Saturday – A poem and a photo

Greetings,

Well, my friends, it has been a long hard week and my synapses aren’t firing at their maximum potential. In fact my mind is pretty much mush. So in view of the mental deficiency inherent in mentally draining work coupled with chronic sleep deprivation, I have decided to share an old poem and a photo. The poem is one I wrote several years ago and speaks of the moments when the colors of dawn are at their glory. The photo, surprise, surprise, is of a sunrise. I captured this shot one morning in Phoenix, AZ. I hope you enjoy.

Aurora’s Gift

Aurora, goddess                                                         Chill morn warmed
of the dawn;                                                                by distant fire;
nature’s beauty,                                                          a song of thanks
newly spawned.                                                          from avian choir

Behold the wonder                                                      Ever-changing,
of earliest morn,                                                          ever new,
the sky, her ebon                                                        beauty quickly
raiments shorn.                                                           fades from view.

Sol and Terra;                                                             Look swiftly now
ageless tryst,                                                               while splendor lasts
darkness flees                                                             too soon by far
with sun’s first kiss.                                                      the time is past.

With feline grace                                                         The magic wanes
dawn arrives;                                                               with Sol’s ascent,
morning breaks;                                                          the dawn, the moments,
the world revived.                                                        quickly spent.

Clouds on fire,                                                             Then it’s gone,
sunbeams prance;                                                       so soon, so swift;
light and shadow,                                                         again tomorrow,
ancient dance.                                                             Aurora’s gift.

Overgrown Elf
01/12/01

There it is my friends, my Saturday morning offering. Hope this brings a smile to your face. Nature is far lovelier than words can ever convey. The best a poet can hope for is to paint a picture in the reader’s mind’s eye. I hope I succeeded.

I tried but lack the knowledge necessary to center the head and move the sig and date to the right. My inner luddite strikes again.

Till next time, be safe, be happy, be creative.

Categories: Poetry, Writing | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Saturday – A poem and a photo

  1. Maurice Newport

    I think I may have even seen the ‘green flash’…

  2. Renee

    Your poem is a good description of sunrise. I will think of it when I am driving to work, as I am privileged to some beautiful sun rises this time of year.

  3. Thank you for your kind words. More poetry and pics to follow now and again.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.